Awkward Things-Dating.

I’m pretty sure many of you may have heard or even liked this piece of Robert Frost’s poetry-

Some say the world will end in fire,

Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire

I hold with those who favor fire.

But if it had to perish twice,

I think I know enough of hate

To say that for destruction ice

Is also great

And would suffice.

 

Well, for me the world will probably end in awkward dates. Here’s how,

Dates are awkward, well atleast for me. All the dates I’ve been in (which are extremely few to begin with) have been awkward, tense or interrupted. Not the usual ‘You order or I order’ or the ‘OH! We went for the glass at the same time’ awkward, but ‘the cringe level over 9000 awkward’, ‘the uncomfortable long silences’ awkward. Well you may say that there is nothing uncomfortable about long silences if you have watched and are influenced by the movie “Pulp Fiction” (which I’m too) but believe me mates it’s totally different in the real world. (Things can be different if you are with your boss’s girlfriend. Clink!)

What you have to know about me is that I’m not really an outgoing person so whenever I’m near too much human interaction, I get nervous.

I’ve got a FEW (again, not many) experiences of my own about these awkward dates.

I met this girl once in the park playing with her little puppy and naturally I feel this sudden urge to pet the pupper. So I walk upto her and start petting (her dog). We start up a conversation and we are having a good time and I also make her laugh a couple of times (At this point my brain was literally yelling to stop and end it) and finally we decided to meet at 7 for our first date (Well!)

Well you know how I had a knack for failed dates, this was NO different. She was only an hour late for the date and after that it was just a series of unfortunate events (See what I did there!) We finally came to the restaurant and were met with packed seats and sullen faces. After rummaging for about half an hour we finally found some decent seats and ordered our food and sat waiting. But the thing we did not realize that we sat right next to a bunch of OVERENTHUSIASTIC foodies and you know how excited these people are. They kept describing each and every food saying how delicious it is and what are its variants in other foreign countries. They kept clicking pictures and were generally really loud. So!

Finally, our food arrived but by then half of my romanticism had been gone and I guess she felt the same too. So we just ate our food in silence (Those uncomfortable ones) and talked scarcely. Mainly by the end of it we knew where the other stayed and our surnames ( PROGRESS!!). After that it was just a blur, we came out, walked and then said good-bye. I got her number though but it is highly unlikely we will go on another one of those dates ( It’s been three weeks already.)

So you see how that is.

Another time was when I convinced a girl to go on a date with me and she finally agreed. The start was excellent. She came on time, we met with literally zero traffic, the restaurant was empty so we got a wide berth and the best thing no loud foodies. We were having a really good time UNTILL and you won’t believe it, she met with her middle school best friend and she just forgot about me and started talking about things with her. It was as if I never existed. As you can probably guess I was sidelined for the rest of the evening and that’s how it went.

So now you know why I have a thing about dates. Dates are awkward, scary and overrated. If you want to know someone know them when they are natural and not in some fancy restaurant with fancy clothes. But that doesn’t mean you stop going on dates, well you gonna stop someday after you have embarrassed yourself enough. Cheers!

P.S. That second girl, she called and said she was really sorry about what happened and wanted to make it up to me. So now I have a second date, fully pumped to see how awkward this one gets.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Awkward Things-Dating.

  1. You’re off to a great start! I think your post was great and appealing to your readers. Keep it up. If you have some time, maybe you could visit or follow my website. Thank you fellow blogger! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

